This Coup Is Openly Led By The U.S.: Arreaza

Source:  Internationalist 360
February 12 2019


United Nations – Press Conference by H.E. Mr. Jorge Arreaza, Minister of the People’s Power for Foreign Affairs, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela on the situation in the country. (In English).

Venezuelan Foreign Minister Jorge Arreaza gave a press conference from the headquarters of the United Nations, where he reaffirmed the condemnation of the coup d’état carried out by the U.S. government against his country.

Arreaza warned about the direct and open participation of the United States in the organization, promotion and financing of aggression, giving orders to the opposition and attempting to force an internal military reaction. He stressed, nonetheless, that the Bolivarian National Armed Force (FANB) has remained ” unbroken in accordance with the Constitution.

The Chancellor regretted that the European Union and its institutions have made the mistake of recognizing “the falsehood of something that does not exist”, in reference to its position of support for the self-proclaimed Juan Guaidó.

He also thanked some nations that have not joined the interference. “The government of Italy has been very conscientious, and has tried to get the parties to achieve a Venezuelan solution and not be imposing what the U.S. government says,” he said.

The Venezuelan Foreign Minister highlighted the cynicism of the U.S. government for sending supposed “humanitarian aid” to Venezuela. “We will be consistent, the government that blocks and attacks and threatens is the one that offers you humanitarian aid? There is no humanitarian crisis in Venezuela, there is a blockaded and besieged economy,” he said.

African Nations Condemn Intervention, Interference in Venezuela

Source:  TeleSUR
February 10 2019

sadc condemns interference in venezuela.jpgSADC meeting showing the various flags of the African group’s member
countries. | Photo: Reuters

The South African Development Community issued a letter condeming actions by the United States and its allies against Venezuela.

The South African Development Community (SADC), a group consisting of 15 African nations, issued a statement condemning the violation of international law in U.S. backed coup actions against Venezuela.

RELATED  We Don’t Want Another Vietnam War in Latin America: Maduro

In a letter dated Feb. 10, President of the Republic of Namibia and chairperson of SADC Hage Geingob noted the community’s concern with “attempts by the leaders of some countries to interfere in the affairs and sovereignty of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.”

The letter relates to the Jan. 10 self-declaration of Juan Guaido, a hitherto unknown lawmaker in Venezuela’s National Assembly in contempt since 2016, as interim president of Venezuela, and the subsequent recognition of him by the United States and some of its Latin American and European allies.

Since that event, United States President Donald Trump has made several threatening statements against the democratically-elected government of Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro, saying that he won’t rule out military intervention.

Meanwhile governments around the globe have called for dialogue in the country rather than aggression, and have supported Venezuela’s right to self-determination.

SADC Secretariat@SADC_News

Chair H.E. @hagegeingob expresses solidarity with Venezuela & notes with concern attempts by leaders of some countries to interfere in Venezuela’s affairs & sovereignty  @CyrilRamaphosa @EdgarCLungu @OfficialMasisi @edmnangagwa @DIRCO_ZA @sardcnet

The development group consists of 15 countries whose main goal is: “to achieve development, peace and security, and economic growth, to alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa, and support the socially disadvantaged through regional integration, built on democratic principles and equitable and sustainable development.”

Among its members are: Angola, Botswana, Lesoto, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.