Six CELAC Medals at the 2017 World Athletic Championships after day 4

August 7 2017

Source:  IAAF medal table

At the end of day 4, CELAC countries have earned 6 of the 46 medals won by 26 countries.

Jamaica and Venezuela each have two medals, a gold and a silver, while Cuba and Colombia have a bronze and a silver respectively.

This places Jamaica and Venezuela as joint 5th position holders on the medal table while Kenya (5), Ethiopia (3) and South Africa (3) rank 2nd, 3rd and 4th respectively.

The CELAC medal winners are:

Jamaica: 

usain bolt wins bronze at wac 2017c

Usain Bolt, bronze 100m

omar mcleod wins 5

Jamaica’s Omar McLeod added the world 110 metres hurdles title to his Olympic crown in London on Monday.  McLeod, 23, led from start to finish to take the title in 13.04 seconds from defending champion Sergey Shubenkov with Balazs Baji of Hungary taking a surprise bronze.

Venezuela

yulimar rojas venezuela wins triple jump

Yulimar Rojas, gold, triple jump

Robeilys Peinado venezuela wins bronze at wac 2017 heptathlon

Robeilys Peinado, bronze (joint), pole vault

Source:  TeleSUR

The 19-year-old Peinado was the youngest athlete to compete in the competition. She was ecstatic at the historic win. 

Pole vaulter Robeilys Peinado became the first Venezuelan to win a bronze medal at the 2017 World Championships in London.

The 19-year-old Peinado was the youngest athlete to compete in the competition. She was ecstatic at the historic win.

“It’s very unexpected,” said Peinado. “When my coach (the Ukrainian Vyacheslav Kalinichenko) was calling me to give me the flag, I did not believe it. He would tell me, ‘I can not be third,’ until I saw him and saw him on the screen.” she told El Nuevo Herald.

“I will not be able to sleep tonight,” she added.

Peinado shared the bronze with Cuba’s Yarisley Silva, both with a record of 4.65 meters. Peinado’s vault equaled her national record, Reuters reported.

“At first I was uncomfortable because I’m not accustomed to sharing a mat with such athletes. But now I am included in that group,” Peinado said.

“I met Yarisley when I started my steps on the pole, and now I’m sharing the podium with her. What more can I ask for? ”

Twelve athletes made it to the final round. Peinado qualified in third place with a score of 4.56 meters, according to the World Athletics Federation.

Cuba

yarisley silva cuba pole vault 2

Yarisley Silva, bronze(joint), pole vault

Colombia

caterine ibarguen colombia silver medal wac 2017

Caterine Ibarguen, silver, triple jump

Leave a comment

