Cuba Gets Ready to Receive AEC 7th Summit

Source:  Prensa Latina
May 6 2016

7th ummit of the AEC.jpgCuba prepares itself to receive the 7th Summit of the Association of the States of the Caribbean Sea (AEC), which will be celebrated in Havana from June 2 until next June 4, said the Cuban Foreign Ministry..

By means of a note published on its digital page, the Foreign Office noted that at the meeting, there will be representatives of the 25 nation-member organization along with representatives of the seven associate states and eight observer organizations, in addition to other guests.

Declaration and a Plan of Action

It is expected that this 7th Summit will approve a Declaration and a Plan of Action, and which will help to consolidate the process of renewal initiated in 2013, the note indicated.

Last April 13 the Secretary-General of the AEC, Alfonso Múnera, met the first vice-minister of foreign relations of the Antillean island, Marcelino Medina, with whom he discussed the preparation of VII Summit.

As part of this meeting the speakers talked about the process to prepare the papers of the meeting, and referred to the functioning of the Association and to the work done by Cuba during its Presidency of the Cabinet.

Founded in 1994

The AEC Constitutive Cabinet was signed on July 24, 1994 in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, with the objective to promote the consulting, cooperation and action concerted among all the Caribbean countries.

During the 21st Ordinary Meeting of the AEC Ministers Council in January this year, Cuba took the pro tempore presidency. The group is formed by 25 member countries and 7 associate members.

In the emeeting, Cuban Foreign Minister Bruno Rodriguez expressed the will of the Cuban government to revitalize this regional organization.

The Association of Caribbean States – Member States

The Association of Caribbean States is the organization for consultation, cooperation and concerted action in trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters in the Greater Caribbean. Its Member States are Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. Its Associate Members are Aruba, Curacao, (France on behalf of French Guiana, Saint Barthelemy and Saint Martin ), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Sint Maarten, (The Netherlands on behalf of Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius ), Turks and Caicos.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s